Why Can’t I Go Home?

Whatever happened to the days of leaving school and then going straight home. Actually arriving when the sun is still high and bright. The times when you can exchange friendly waves with neighbors and just relaxing before dinner.

Of course, I know the answer. I just thought that I would pose this rhetorical question hoping that I can someday change this answer.

I know why….tennis practice, soccer practice, milk, bananas, get car battery checked, church meetings, teacher meetings, private lessons, and list goes on and on.

Don’t get wrong. I am thankful for life that I live. I’m grateful for my husband, kids, family, friends and every other classification in between.

So for now, I will accept my lot in life and enjoy watching my boys learn to work together on a team for a common goal (to win!!). I will be thankful that I have the resources to pick up the items that we need. I will be grateful that this time, my battery was recharged for free. I am thankful for the common purpose that binds me with my church members and other teachers. I am grateful.

During all for this gratefulness and thankfulness, don’t think for one minute that I’m not devising plan when I can come straight home.

3 thoughts on “Why Can’t I Go Home?”

  1. What I love about this is that acknowledge the beauty and appreciation of the things you have while simultaneously recognizing the tremendous draw to simply go home and be. I hear you. I love the way you explored it.

    Like

  2. I know the feeling! Life gets so busy- it is easy to get caught up in the rush. I am trying to remember to stop and enjoy the small moments for I know that all too soon- they will pass.

    Like

Leave a Reply

